7 Things To Do This Week (4/15-4/19)

How are you doing, Addison? We hope everyone is staying safe social distancing, sheltering-in-place and supporting local businesses during this one-of-a-kind season. While the world is working to #FlattenTheCurve, do your part by staying home, watching a new show, reading a new book, and ordering food and alcohol delivery from a local business. For more ideas, read our guide of 7 Things To Do This Week – being homebound doesn’t have to be miserable!

Happy Hour

blank

Cuddle up with a good book and amazing to-go wine.

1. Let the worries of the world wash over you with a chilled glass of wine from Mercy Wine Bar. Mercy is open Monday-Friday from noon-8 p.m. for takeout or curbside service an delivery within a five-mile radius. Simply call and ask what wine will pair best with your dinner or choose your favorite from Mercy’s long list. They have everything from sparkling wine to champagne to reds, whites and roses from all over the world, available at half-price.

2. Delicious drinks and food are right at your fingertips when you go to Astoria Caffe and Wine Bar. Order a delicious red or white, paired with a perfect panini or salad. If you are in the mood for something a little stronger, then you will love their signature coffee cocktails, including the Nutty Irishman, made with hazelnut coffee, ice Irish whiskey and Irish cream; or the Irish Coffee, made with coffee, Irish cream, Irish whiskey and whipped cream. It’s a drink and a dessert at the same time!

Food

blank
Photo credit: Antonio Ristorante.

Now is not the time to stick to your diet! Enjoy delicious Italian food found in the Corridor instead.

3. Ferrari’s Italian Villa is accepting carryout and curbside delivery orders from 4-8 p.m. Order their Frankie special for just $32, which comes with chicken parmigiana for two, featuring chicken breast breaded and baked with tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese with a side of Fettuccine Alfredo, Caesar salad and Focaccia bread. Of course, most of the rest of their menu is still available now as well. Call 972-980-9898 to place your order.

4. Another fantastic Italian food option is Antonio Ristorante, which offers food and wine pickup from 4-8:30 p.m. daily. Some of their favorites include the Cioppino Antonio, Chef Antonio’s combination of fresh fish and shellfish in a spicy tomato sauce; Antonio’s Carbonara, which is Fettuccine pasta tossed in freshly made cream sauce with black pepper, onions, white wine and topped with a poached egg and pancetta; or the healthy Ahi Tuna Salad, which is seared Ahi tuna on a house salad with fresh iceberg and romaine lettuce, baby tomatoes, carrots, cucumber and green onions with a lemon Italian dressing. Call 972-458-1010 to reserve your order today.

Music

blank
“Bye Bye Birdie” Photo credit: Broadway HD.

While live music and performances are cancelled, you can still get your fill of amazing music from home!

5. Simply sign up for Broadway HD (they also offer a free 7-day trial) to watch performances of some of the greatest musicals ever on Broadway. Sing along to “The Telephone Hour” from Bye Bye Birdie, “Welcome to Bangkok” from The King and I and “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Miserables among many, many others. It’s a great way to see some new shows or relieve old favorites!

 

 

 

 

 

Arts and Entertainment

blank
“Chosen Ones” by Veronica Roth. Photo credit: Barnes & Noble.

Just because we can’t go out, doesn’t mean life has to be boring. Check out some of these arts and entertainment options for this week at home!

6. So, you’ve finished “Tiger King” and are looking for something else to binge-watch. Netflix has got you covered! They are releasing several new titles this week for your entertainment. “The Innocence Files”premieres Wednesday, a true crime limited series that unravels the missteps and deceit in a series of wrongful convictions, exposing the injustice inflicted on victims and the accused. “Too Hot to Handle”premieres this Friday and is perfect for fans of “The Bachelor” or “Love is Blind.” This reality show takes place on a steamy beach, where gorgeous singles meet up. But to win a $100,000 grand prize, they have to give up any physical connection.

7. Remember when you wished you had time to read a good book? Well, now you do! Veronica Roth, author of the famous Divergent franchise, has recently released her first novel for an adult audience, Chosen Ones. The story is about five twenty-something heroes, who saved the world when they were teenagers from an enemy known as the Dark One. Ten years later, their lives have moved on – until one of their own is murdered and they realized the Dark One was never really defeated after all.

 

Leave a Comment

blank

Sign Up for our ENews Weekly!

Features • Business • Arts • Entertainment • Dining
Nightlife • Travel • Real Estate • Beauty & Image

Thank you! You've successfully subscribed to Addison Magazine's ENews Weekly!

Pin It on Pinterest